PDA

View Full Version : 1301 with 8-pellet Flitecontrol?

Joe Mac
12-12-2020, 04:24 PM
Before my recent retirement from the PD, I was involved in testing potential new duty shotguns. Our SWAT guys had already bought several 1301s for special purposes, I'd worked with them in classes, and I tested the 1301 for the larger patrol shotgun cadre. I've been instructing patrol shotgun for 20 years, but had no prior experience with the 1301.

Our duty ammo (used in 870s) is low-recoil Truball slugs as primary (LEB127 LRS), with 8-pellet Flitecontrol (LE133 00) optional. The low-recoil slugs ran beautifully in the 1301.

I *thought* the conventional interweb wisdom was that 8-pellet buck runs reliably in the 1301; it did not. No matter how experienced the shooter, it just seemed too light to cycle the action reliably. We resolved that if we did adopt the 1301, we'd change the buck load.

So.. what'd I miss? I'm thinking of buying a 1301, and wondering what I'd feed it.. Does 9-pellet LE132 run better, or is full charge buck needed? What are you guys running for buck in these guns?

Thanks

Lon
12-12-2020, 05:33 PM
Before my recent retirement from the PD, I was involved in testing potential new duty shotguns. Our SWAT guys had already bought several 1301s for special purposes, I'd worked with them in classes, and I tested the 1301 for the larger patrol shotgun cadre. I've been instructing patrol shotgun for 20 years, but had no prior experience with the 1301.

Our duty ammo (used in 870s) is low-recoil Truball slugs as primary (LEB127 LRS), with 8-pellet Flitecontrol (LE133 00) optional. The low-recoil slugs ran beautifully in the 1301.

I *thought* the conventional interweb wisdom was that 8-pellet buck runs reliably in the 1301; it did not. No matter how experienced the shooter, it just seemed too light to cycle the action reliably. We resolved that if we did adopt the 1301, we'd change the buck load.