PDA

View Full Version : For no reason, i want a lever gun

gtmtnbiker98
10-24-2020, 10:02 AM
I'm a total newb when it comes to the gun that won the Wild West. Looking for input, so far I'm considering either a Henry .45-70 item H010 ($799) and a Winchester 1886 .45-70. ($1099). Does the Winchester bring anything to the table for the added $300?

The intended use: I want it and could see some deer hunting use.

Help a lever action rookie out.

BobM
10-24-2020, 10:31 AM
I had a Marlin Guide Gun years ago. I sold it before Ohio legalized them for deer hunting. I’d get another Marlin if I was getting another 45/70.

gtmtnbiker98
10-24-2020, 10:36 AM
I had a Marlin Guide Gun years ago. I sold it before Ohio legalized them for deer hunting. I’d get another Marlin if I was getting another 45/70.

I haven't witnessed any Marlin's in stock to look at, Vance's is out as well.

fatdog
10-24-2020, 10:54 AM
I would be seeking a Marlin as well, love mine. The 1886 was not a rifle designed to be scoped if that matters. I hear very good things about he current Japanese made Winchesters in terms of quality. I know nothing about the Henry, they are relative new comers to that cartridge, it appears to be a Marlin pattern receiver and action, but I would hate the tube loading aspect, just the CAS shooter in me. If you are not an experienced .45-70 shooter, let me suggest for a "shooter" rifle you hope to put a lot of rounds down range with, you definitely want a rifle with a good butt pad. The steel butt plates that are on most of the 1886 tribe are absolutely brutal to deal with.

Robinson
10-24-2020, 11:02 AM
I'm a total newb when it comes to the gun that won the Wild West. Looking for input, so far I'm considering either a Henry .45-70 item H010 ($799) and a Winchester 1886 .45-70. ($1099). Does the Winchester bring anything to the table for the added $300?