PDA

View Full Version : SL Variant Speedloaders

TGS
06-09-2012, 03:10 PM
I received my 2 SL Variant speed-loaders for my K-frame. I know we had some discussion in the revolver reload thread about these, so I wanted to post up a little blurb and video.

The injection of the cartridges is very positive. Note that I have no experience with Safariland speed loaders, only these and HKS. With HKS I always found myself having to jiggle the cartridges fully into the cylinder. Not so with the SL Variant, check out this quick video I took that demonstrates how forceful the SL Variant injects cartridges. I'm holding the SL Variant in my fingers, with it pointing straight up, and the A-Zoom snap caps jump nearly a foot in the air:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RD_GIbGkPjw&feature=youtu.be

Note that the trigger for this speed-loader protrudes pretty far from the speed-loader body. I'm wondering how the trigger will hold up to being dropped on concrete, as it seems pretty easy for it to take the brunt of the impact.

Also note that the trigger can be pressed in and turned, which adjusts the angle of the cartridges. I'm not sure if this is a useful feature or not as I would think anything chambered for 6 rounds of .38/.357 would have very similar charge-hole spacing.

Let me know what you guys think.

Buckshot
06-18-2012, 09:54 PM
I'm not sure if this is a useful feature or not as I would think anything chambered for 6 rounds of .38/.357 would have very similar charge-hole spacing.

Not really, compare an N frame cylinder to a K frame cylinder.

ford.304
06-19-2012, 08:48 AM
Thanks for the video. I'm going to have to get some of those to try.

TGS
06-23-2012, 04:58 PM
Don't buy any of these. They suck.