PDA

View Full Version : Vibra-Tite

GJM
08-11-2020, 07:33 AM
A few years ago, I used Vibra-Tite to install a plate, per recommended torque set by a Wheeler, and it came loose. I went back to blue loctite and have had few to no problems with things coming loose.

A month or so ago, I installed a V4 C&H plate on a Gen 5 17, used the supplied Vibra-Tite with torque set by a Wheeler (different Wheeler than used previously) to the specified value. I zeroed the pistol and put it aside as a back-up. I started shooting it a week ago, and have shoot it a thousand or two rounds.

Yesterday, my wife had a Romeo 3 Max come flying off a Legion, when both screws holding the optic to the plate sheared on the Springer plate. She had verified security of the plate and optic Friday, before heading to matches. (Springer is replacing the plate). That got me wiggling on my various plates, and I was surprised to find the C&H plate was slightly loose. When I pulled everything, all four screws were loose — the two securing the plate to the pistol and the two holding the optic. The Vibra-Tite had migrated high on each screw and was in chunks. I reapplied blue loctite and reinstalled the plate.

I am starting to question Vibra-Tite.

Hambo
08-11-2020, 07:46 AM
I use it for stuff with mild vibration, like my reloaders, not parts that take a beating. I didn't think it was supposed to be a Loctite replacement.

YVK
08-11-2020, 07:50 AM
I am starting to question Vibra-Tite.

Not a statistically significant sample. Keep using it till it fails on 5-7 more pistols, then maybe.

I myself used it once, with the whole prep and cure time etc, the screws got loose, and that was the first and the last time I used it.

farscott
08-11-2020, 08:16 AM