PDA

View Full Version : Info/Advice for novel.

Bigguy
05-12-2020, 01:13 PM
I sent the following email to the CID most likely to respond to a murder in this area. I haven't heard back yet, but though I'd post the same questions here to see if somebody might have some ideas.

Sirs:

I am an independent author with 7 titles presently available on Amazon. I presently live in Texarkana, TX. but my home town is Gillett, AR. One of my novels is a political thriller set in southeast Arkansas County. “From The Delta Mud.”
I’m currently writing another novel set in that location, but this one is a murder mystery. I very much want to depict law enforcement correctly, but I’ve already made some major mistakes that will require extensive rewriting.
In chapter 8 I have the investigation undertaken by a Sheriff’s Deputy. I spoke briefly with somebody in law enforcement who told me this was completely implausible. I gathered that due to the limited investigative resources in that region, it is likely your office would assign an agent for the investigation.
I realize that you folks are busy with more important work, but was hoping that somebody with actual knowledge might take enough interest to invest some personal time. I’ll include some background for the story and some question below to give you and idea of what the task might entail.

Summary:
A body is found 5 miles east of Gillett on a farm. It is the farm owner. He is solitary and universally despised by almost every citizen in the area because he is fighting with a petroleum developer. He is costing everybody the chance for some potentially lucrative income.
He is found next to a canal, a mile or more down a muddy road (only accessible by 4WD vehicles) with an arrow in his back.
A hunter finds the body. As the hunter is leaving the woods, he runs into the Sheriff’s Deputy who was trying to find the farmer due to a previous incident.

Questions: