PDA

View Full Version : New Sharpmaker- Comments and Questions

vcdgrips
04-28-2020, 03:54 PM
As I posted in the Retail Therapy Thread, I just picked up the Spyderco Sharpmaker because I am a complete knife sharpening novice beyond using a steel on my kitchen knives. I made the purchase knowing fully that it may be a 90 % solution 90% of the time relative to other, particularly motorized systems.

My initial impressions are quite positive. I do concur that is does its best work at touching up/ maintaining and a knife that was 1/2 way sharp in the first place. I have be practicing on a cheapy Kershaw (Model 1445 with 8CR13MOV steel). It has gone from dull to barely cut typing paper sharp with a lot of work at both the 40 and 30 Degree settings. (hundreds of passes)

I "touched" up a SAK, a Spyderco Cat 10 and a CPMS 30V Native that was a WalMart Special way back in the day to thin legal pad paper slicing sharpness with relative ease (dozens of passes).

Questions:

1. Should my default setting be at 40 (20 a side) setting or the 30 (15 a side setting)? There is much conflicting info on to include from the master himself Sal G of Spyderco?

2. Any harm in just doing 10 passes a side with the white fine stones on the flats every day on the way out the door as I move thru the carry rotation

Before I start on a VG 10 Limited Edition Wave and my Clinch Pick, I thought it best to ask around a bit. I have watched a fair number of videos on line.

Any other nuggets of Sharpmaker wisdom are most appreciated.

blues
04-28-2020, 04:21 PM
1. There is no default per se. It really depends on the angle of the existing edge bevel.

Try taking a piece of newspaper and tightly wrap it around one of the rods when placed in each of the slots, 20 and 15 degrees. (Flat side of the hone.)