PDA

View Full Version : Aimpoint Micro & Hubris - A Stripped Screw Tale

Toonces
04-08-2020, 10:36 PM
So I've been screwing around with guns & reloading for 32 years, with a 20 year career as a metallurgical/quality engineer, without ever screwing up a fastener as bad as I did this week. I've successfully turned a lot of screws on various (sometimes pricey) firearms, and generally thought I wasn't too bad at not screwing things up. Then I tried to remove the mounting screws that held an Aimpoint R-1 to a DD mount. One came out with the 2mm allen wrench. One came out with the 2mm allen wrench later, of it's own volition. One came out with a T8 (see the problem) after the application of heat from a production soldering iron set to 800F. The forth screw has made me question my intelligence, as it has bested me at every turn.

I have used various combinations of the proper 2mm allen key, a T8 Torx, a T9 Torx with a sharpened edge tapped into place, a T10 Torx with a sharpened edge tapped into place, and a Brownells Magna-Tip bit ground into the shape of an easyout with a sharp edge tapped into place, in conjunction with heat supplied by a production (professional grade) soldering iron and a butane pencil torch, and lack of heat supplied by freezing. At times I have placed (at least) an estimated 30 in-lbs (measured against the tool used to calibrate torque wrenches/screwdrivers) of torque on this damn fastener, without it budging (WTF, I couldn't be so stupid as to use red Loctite, could I?). It is now stripped out to a diameter of about 0.120", because I thought it was moving and kept going with the improvised easyout. I'm now on about plan E, I thought I'd ask the hive mind for help. (@Wayne Dobbs) (anybody else with an educated guess)