PDA

View Full Version : G17 gen4 USPSA

Shokr21
05-16-2012, 10:46 AM
I dove headfirst into the competition scene earlier this year, never having shot on a timer save for Army quals. I started shooting steel challenge, and still do, but shoot a weekly USPSA local match.

I shoot production with a gen 4 g17 SAD prefix serial number, 30274 ejector, the only aftermarket parts are ameriglo defoor sights.

I use a hideous holster stealth for now, but have a couple other OWB holsters enroute (all designed for concealment). Belt is a volund gearworks atlas and I use kytex gear mag pouches.

I'm not classified yet, but referencing my two classifier scores I should fall into the middle of C class.

My problem, or rather stumbling blocks start when the timer goes off. Last night I had a plan on the first stage of being as fast as accurately possible. It was a simple walkdown stage where no more than 4 targets were visible at any stationary point. My plan was to smoothly move down the firing lane and engage as I saw targets. I did just fine on movement, I could have been a little faster, but not much. My big problem was throwing an extra shot at a target that already had 2A hits. 10th out of 19

Second stage was my first texas star, kicked my ass a little, but I was happy with my end state. 11th out of 19

Third stage I tried to burn it down and was rewarded with a mike on a swinger behind partial cover. My best finish of the night 7 out of 19.

Finished 9th out of 19. I really could care less where I finish, it's just a benchmark, I'm more concerned with my hits. I had 52 A's, 1 B, 14 C's, 1 D and 1 M. If I could eliminate the mike and delta, I'd be fairly pleased with the hits from last night.

What drills or practices would you suggest for me, to find the balance of speed and accuracy?

Any mindset tips that help you stay on your intended plan after the timer goes off?