View Full Version : Red Dot on G26?

Redhat
02-05-2020, 10:31 PM
Anyone use a red dot on a Glock 26?

What are the options?

Thanks

YVK
02-05-2020, 10:36 PM
Any aftermarket milling option works. I've some experience, not problems with performance, gun or optic.

https://pistol-forum.com/showthread.php?40208-RMR-ready-Glock-26

RAM Engineer
02-06-2020, 07:05 AM
Glock has made factory MOS G26 for the military. It was some version of the MK26 iirc. Never seen any for sale commercially though.

HeavyDuty
02-06-2020, 08:11 AM
I would consider milling my 26.5, but I’m not entirely sure a RMR cut will still be relevant in 20 or even 10 years. So, I’m waiting for a 26.5 MOS to come along. I would RDS my 26 in a heartbeat.

I saw mention of a new open source mount footprint that was introduced at SHOT... if that gets traction, it would be an option.

TheCarl
02-06-2020, 09:40 AM
In these parts, a G19 plus optic with the grip cut short for G26 mags is more popular, even though it's more finicky and expensive.

Ndbbm
02-06-2020, 11:16 AM
In these parts, a G19 plus optic with the grip cut short for G26 mags is more popular, even though it's more finicky and expensive.

Why finicky?

Jason

TheCarl
02-06-2020, 11:36 AM
Why finicky?

Jason

In my opinion, every custom job carries a risk of something going wrong. There's also the time and potentially a shipping complication.

Using a vetted, reputable shop reduces these risks, but cannot eliminate them. I'm not speaking of purely mechanical matters, though of course that could also occur.

I personally think it's an acceptable risk, and I'm thinking about going this route myself. YMMV

Ndbbm
02-06-2020, 11:52 AM
Ok, thanks for the follow up.

Jason

TheCarl
02-06-2020, 12:05 PM
Ok, thanks for the follow up.

Jason

There are older posts (created years before this subforum existed) with pics and discussion of the cut G19.

HeavyDuty
02-06-2020, 04:28 PM