PDA

View Full Version : Some Random Thoughts On The Glock 21

ECVMatt
01-12-2020, 11:53 PM
I have been lucky enough to get quite a few weekends in the desert shooting in the last couple of months. I was out again this weekend and my friends and I were shooting our .45's. We had my TRP, Glock 21, and my Glock 30SF that I just finished the 2000 round challenge with. My buddies had a Nighhawk Agent 2 and a Wilson Classic Supergrade. We were not shooting at paper, but just shooting some steel and then randomly picking targets to hit. I started out with my TRP and they were shooting the Agent2 and the Supergrade. We were all pretty much on par with each other and having a blast.

To mix things up, I switched to my 21. I have been shooting Glocks for 30 years now and they are my go to gun. I have pretty big mittens, so the 21/20 fit me well. My 21 is really not a 21, but a police trade in slide on my 20 frame. I have been shooting my 20 for about 20 years as well, so I know the trigger well. At first my buddies were giving me a hard time, but as we started shooting for groups on steel we all soon realized that I was shooting the same or better than the Agent2 and the Supergrade. Then when we switched to informal targets I cleaned house on them.

I am not knocking the 1911 or Nighthawk or Willson Combat. I love my TRP and the 1911 in general, but I think the Glock 21 sometimes gets overlooked for accuracy. Both the Nighthawk and the Wilson Combat had hick-ups when they were not using preferred magazines and the Glock just ran. We are not going to run off and turn in our 1911's, but it was fun to see the Glock 21 perform so well.

Anyway, so to ramble, but I thought I would share this weekends events and give props to the good old Glock 21.

45dotACP
01-13-2020, 01:51 AM
The Glock 21 is probably as accurate as any 1911 you can buy off the rack for under 2 grand and more than a few over that.