PDA

View Full Version : Sage advice for SBRs

snow white
01-04-2020, 02:45 PM
I'm just getting into my first sbr and wanted to ask for some advice regarding anything you guys think I need to know. It will be an ar chambered in 5.56. I'll be getting an 11.5 lightweight bcm upper once i sell my 14.5 ballistic advantage upper. The lower I registered has an A1 stock with a LAW folder, geissele H1 buffer with the braided spring. I'll be adding a surfire warcomp as I think they do a good job with flash suppression and I have good experience with them.
Should I go for a heavier buffer?
Any good ammunition offerings in 5.56 for an sbr? Lighter bullets? Heavier bullets?
Let me bask in your infinite knowledge.

ranger
01-04-2020, 07:04 PM
Reference your SBR ammo question https://pistol-forum.com/showthread.php?4344-5-56-mm-Duty-Loads

Wake27
01-04-2020, 09:23 PM
I'm just getting into my first sbr and wanted to ask for some advice regarding anything you guys think I need to know. It will be an ar chambered in 5.56. I'll be getting an 11.5 lightweight bcm upper once i sell my 14.5 ballistic advantage upper. The lower I registered has an A1 stock with a LAW folder, geissele H1 buffer with the braided spring. I'll be adding a surfire warcomp as I think they do a good job with flash suppression and I have good experience with them.
Should I go for a heavier buffer?
Any good ammunition offerings in 5.56 for an sbr? Lighter bullets? Heavier bullets?
Let me bask in your infinite knowledge.

Barrel length won’t matter so much as barrel twist when talking light vs heavy loads. Some rounds will perform significantly better out of a shorter barrel than others due to low velocity threshold for expansion, but I’m sure the above linked thread covers that (been a while since I read it last). H2 is typically the standard for 14.5 midlength barrels, so that may be a better starting point. I’d assume an H3 might be even better. BCM is a great brand, that’ll be a solid upper.