PDA

View Full Version : Carver “carry” Racker for left handed shooter

WilsonD
12-31-2019, 11:38 AM
I’m new to shooting and left handed so my Glock 34 gen 4 does not have ambi slide release so I was looking to put a Carver “carry” Racker on to help me with reloads. There is nothing in the rules that states this not legal. Any ideas?

gomerpyle
12-31-2019, 01:49 PM
I’m new to shooting and left handed so my Glock 34 gen 4 does not have ambi slide release so I was looking to put a Carver “carry” Racker on to help me with reloads. There is nothing in the rules that states this not legal. Any ideas?

heres a cool alternative technique (https://www.instagram.com/p/Bvyt1DIj2XR/), courtesy of Kyle Defoor.

El Cid
12-31-2019, 01:58 PM

I’m not sure what you mean by rules. Are talking about USPSA or IDPA or some other governing body of matches?

I looked up the Carver Racker. I don’t see what advantage you’d gain even as a lefty. It’s designed to pull the slide rearward when an optic is in the way of the grasping grooves. For releasing the slide when locked open I don’t see the Carver piece helping unless your pistol has a slide mounted optic.

There is also a very fast technique taught by Defoor and others where the right middle finger hits the slide stop lever after inserting the magazine. I looked but can’t find a video. I’ll keep looking.

ETA - gomerpyle beat me to it.

RJ
12-31-2019, 02:26 PM
If you are shooting to slidelock in USPSA production, you've probably made a mistake somewhere. :)

If this is IDPA, or other gun game, as above, I am uncertain what you mean.

Medusa
12-31-2019, 02:48 PM