PDA

View Full Version : Best techniques to clean RDS glass?

ranger
10-23-2019, 07:26 PM
I have a smoky haze build up on my SRO. Are there best techniques for cleaning RDS lens without scratching, etc.? Thanks

Duke
10-23-2019, 07:40 PM
Wet q tips then dry ones

But I’m new to RDS pistols

Paul D
10-23-2019, 09:14 PM
I clean it like I clean a camera lens. Blow away any potential abrasive dust and debris. Spray lens cleaner and wipe with a cotton tip Qtip or lens cloth. If you have Shield RMS you really have to be careful.

Tom Duffy
10-23-2019, 09:39 PM
I put a little Cat Crap paste on both outside elements with a Q tip, wipe off excess with clean side of Q tip and finish with a microfiber lens cloth. Cat Crap is supposed to help flow the water off the glass in rainy conditions.

GJM
10-23-2019, 09:47 PM
Leupold lens pen.

flyrodr
10-24-2019, 04:22 AM
Echoing GJM, I think the absolute safest way (least risk of damage to lens surface) is one of the lens pens offered by any number of camera/optics mfgrs. They're made to clean the (very) fragile sensors/mirrors/etc inside cameras. Some are combo sets, and include a liquid lens cleaner. Key thing the lens pens do that a household cotton swab doesn't do, is that the former don't shed cotton fibers on the optics surface (and they have only "soft" fiber/foam/material; no stray "hard" fibers that can be in household cotton swabs).