PDA

View Full Version : M4 style handguards vs. free float

Little Creek
04-19-2012, 04:28 AM
What is to be gained by switching my M&P15 Sport with M4 style handguards to a free float style handguard? I know their are many different free floating handguards on the market and that they vary in cost and in the degree of difficultity in installing? Cost vs. benefit vs. degree of difficulity in installing? I currently have the Magpul MOE handguard with MOE verticle grip. I plan on using this carbine with a 1X scope with lighted reticle, Leupold Prismatic. I am relatively new to the M4 platform. This is my first M4gery.

Your thoughts?

rob_s
04-19-2012, 04:57 AM
I am a big proponent of Experience Based Learning (http://serc.carleton.edu/introgeo/enviroprojects/what.html), so my suggestion is to go shoot the gun and find out if you want/need what the free-float offers.

Traditionally rifle barrels were free-floated in their stocks to improve accuracy potential by eliminating the inconsistent pressure on the barrel from the stock. The key to accuracy is consistency. With the AR-pattern carbine it is less about inherent accuracy in the system as it is about reducing the effects of outside forces on the barrel itself. For example, if you zero your current gun while resting it on the handguard, or with a bipod attached to the handguard, you will have a different POI when you shoot offhand or from magazine monopod prone. This can still occur with a free-float but to a much, much lesser degree.

Additionally, when you get into shooting the AR in the kinds of dynamic situations it was intended you wind up braced against this, resting on that, or even tightening down a sling like the Viking Tactics or Mission Ready Equipment to use as a shooting aid. Having a free-float handguard will again help reduce the impact that contact or tension has on the barrel.