PDA

View Full Version : SCOTUS Schedules NY State Rifle & Pistol Association Case for December 2

Amp
09-24-2019, 09:02 AM
The US Supreme Court has scheduled oral arguments for December 2 for the much anticipated New York State Rifle & Pistol Association v. City of New York case. This case has the potential for setting back gun control in America by a couple of generations, bringing us closer to the original meaning of the Second Amendment.

https://www.thetruthaboutguns.com/scotus-schedules-ny-state-rifle-pistol-association-case-for-december-2/

https://www.nraila.org/articles/20190920/us-supreme-court-schedules-nra-supported-second-amendment-case-for-argument

Glenn E. Meyer
09-24-2019, 10:00 AM
This is really a nail biter. I'm no lawyer, but I fear the associated blather with a decision. If the court simply says the NYC law is unconstitutional and that's it, it's a mild victory but with little impact. If it says that the law is unconstitutional but produces some ambiguous blather like Heller, it will be a loss as that will be used in lower court cases. Those build precedent against gun rights. Some claim Heller was unambiguous but it was not clear and as the article points out, didn't change the behavior of the tougher states on gun laws. It certainly didn't stop the onset of AWB type laws.

I also hate to see:
– for lawful purposes, particularly self-defense.

The self-defense aspect can be used against higher cap semis in long arms and handguns. 5 is enough will convince many to say - that's all you get. Claiming Heller didn't allow AR bans - well, in practice that's not true. Maybe SCOTUS will take a case on this - who knows and who knows how Roberts will go.

I would hope that the decision if positive is expansive enough to wipe out the may issue laws.

RoyGBiv
09-24-2019, 12:34 PM
I would hope that the decision if positive is expansive enough to wipe out the may issue laws.