PDA

View Full Version : Knife & Pistol Employment Question - Benchmade SOCP

37th Mass
04-12-2012, 08:15 PM
I read on another thread that one forum member's wife carries a Benchmade SOCP fixed blade dagger and likes it. I have read other good reviews of it in certain applications, and I am happy with other Benchmade knives that I have bought. However, when I looked at their suggested way to draw and hold the knife in conjunction with a pistol, it seems crazy to me. I am still a novice with a pistol and even less experienced with knife fighting, but I don't see the logic in this example:

http://www.benchmade.com/Images/Pr/Pdf/176_Molle_Extract.Pdf

I suppose they think that this would be a good way to switch to your knife when you run out of ammo in your pistol. Do they assume you won't have a second magazine? If you do have one, this seems like a great way to stab yourself in your weak hand during a reload.

Am I missing something?:confused:

Chuck Haggard
04-12-2012, 08:40 PM
That is one of the very most F'd up things I have seen in awhile.

Falls somewhere between drum set and full retard.

Ed L
04-12-2012, 09:04 PM
The knife was designed by Gregg Thompson who is a Black belt in BJJ and several other arts and is an MMA instructor who is involved with the Army's Special Operations Combatives Program http://www.ussocp.com/

Now, I'm not that much of a knife guy, but going by the pictures of holding the knife while employing the pistol, a few things stick in my head:

1. If you are needing to transition to or draw your sidearm, it would greatly slow up getting the gun into actiion to draw the knife first, if that is what they are suggesting.

2. Holding even a slim knife in your hand with your dominant hand is going to alter your grip on the handgun and ability to reach the trigger and likely throw off your shooting.