PDA

View Full Version : I got an email from the webmaster at pistol forum.com

Cypher
07-26-2019, 03:04 AM
Asking me to sign a petition to reform the NRA. Did you guys actually send this or is it spam?

RoyGBiv
07-26-2019, 05:38 AM
Legit

https://pistol-forum.com/showthread.php?37643-Step-1-Require-NRA-Directors-to-Attend-Board-Meetings&p=907091&viewfull=1#post907091

hufnagel
07-26-2019, 07:27 AM
huh. I'm more annoyed I didn't get an email.

hufnagel
07-26-2019, 01:46 PM
damnit.
ok, i'm one of those "that guy"'s that had the wrong email account in his profile.
FIXED! :D

Zincwarrior
07-26-2019, 01:59 PM
A large percentage of PF members (many of whom are still active on the site) have changed their email addresses but never updated their profile info. As a result, PF gets a ton of bounced email. At one point I used to ask those people to please update their email address, but after a handful of angry/pissy responses about how that was none of my business, I stopped.

For a while I’d just set their accounts to not send out notifications (since trying to monitor bounced email to see what’s from email providers blocking PF became difficult when there are thousands of other bounced messages from people with abandoned email accounts), but ultimately also stopped doing that since it required direct database manipulation and that’s sort of a risky pain in the ass.

Last week I went through the bounced email in an attempt to help a member that said he was not receiving email from PF. The amount of bounced email from the message LL sent out was staggering — and meant it took over an over to confirm that there was no email problem (other than perhaps filtering not his end) for the guy saying he wasn’t getting email from PF.

TL;DR: update your email address in your profile and/or check your spam filters/folders.

I just received mine today, so there may be a delay since it was first mentioned.

Totem Polar
07-26-2019, 02:21 PM