PDA

View Full Version : USPSA Carry Optics pistols

GJM
06-25-2019, 10:35 PM
I started shooting USPSA Carry Optics (CO) in 2016, shortly after it became a provisional division, and thought I would share some of my experiences with various pistols.

Prior to 2016, I had shot a red dot off and on, was pleased with it on harder shots, never quite satisfied up close, and generally ambivalent. My experience was all RMR, both on a Glock and a Sig 226. When CO came about, I decided to grab one of the new Glock Gen 4 19 MOS pistols, a DP Pro, and learn more about running a dot in USPSA. I shot the 19 for about six months, was generally pleased, but wished for a longer grip and an easier time making power factor with my loads.

Since I had been shooting a CZ Shadow 1 in Production, I tried to get a pair set up but never fully got my act together. About that time I was increasingly frustrated with the ten round magazine limit, competing in an area that was very Open and Limited oriented. PCC came along, and I decided to shoot "open long" for a while. I decided to get an Open gun, and as soon as I ordered one, USPSA switched to a 140mm magazine limit for CO. That suited me just fine, as I really didn't want to shoot Open, I wanted to shoot a facsimile of my carry gun, but with a red dot.

Late spring of 2017, I bought a Walther Q5, installed a Pro, and started shooting it. I really liked the trigger on the Walther. I respect the Glock design, but I always had a love hate relationship with the Glock trigger, and the Walther trigger was frankly exciting. As I shot the Walther more, I ran into some problems. The grip was short for me, I could only reliably get 20 or 21 rounds in the magazine, occasionally I would jar the sear and end up with a dead trigger when reloading aggressively, and the left rear corner of the Walther frame beat up the base of my thumb enough it brought pain with every shot.