PDA

View Full Version : Glock 43x: Good/Bad/Indifferent?

cclark
06-25-2019, 11:19 AM
I’ve been carrying a Glock 19 for the past 5 years, AIWB, 3 O’Clock, and 4 O’Clock with appendix being my preferred method. I’ve used a variety of holsters to carry the pistol and I ended up using a Blade-Tech Klipt the majority of the time due to how low it sits on my waistline. It conceals extremely well but presents an issue when getting a full firing grip each and every time. I started flipping the grip up a bit before getting a grip and once I was warmed up it didn’t seem to slow down my draw stroke. That being said I’ve always looked for a pistol/aiwb holster combo that would sit high enough to get a full grip every time and still conceal well.

I picked up a 43x last week and an aiwb holster from Fieldcraft Survival (if you haven’t used their holster I recommend trying one) and spent Sunday at the range testing it out. I’m by no means an expert pistol shot but I’m working hard to become as proficient as I can possibly be. The 43x shot better than I expected and it carries like a dream. I was just as fast up close as I am with the 19. Shots at distance weren’t terrible but follow ups were slightly slower. I still have a lot of work to do as a shooter but overall I shot it well enough for me to consider it good for carry. No malfunctions. I put around 200 rounds through it so it needs another range session or two to prove itself reliable. It shot POA/POI with 124 gr. GECO so I’ll be testing 124gr HST to see where I’m at.

The Fieldcraft Survival holster allows the pistol to ride high enough to get a solid grip every time and the 43x is thin enough to conceal. I’ve dressed around the 19 for years so the thinner 43x just conceals a little bit better.. The weight is also a plus compared to carrying the 19 + and extra mag or two. Overall I really enjoy this set up. Looking for a sights for the pistol now and deciding between Hacks or CAPS.