PDA

View Full Version : a step back - Glock Gen 3

30-30
04-17-2019, 02:31 AM
I've been carrying and qualifying with Glock pistols since 1996, started life with a G-17/19/26 Gen3. Transitioned to the G-22/23/27 Gen3 in 2003, then had the opportunity in 2012 to switch back to the G-17/19/26 in Gen4.

In 2018-19 I test drove the Gen5 G-19/45/43X. The Gen5 is a good firearm, reliable, accurate, but there are many changes to the Glock platform that I wasn't looking for or felt that I needed (YMMV).

So back in January I shot a LEO friends Gen3 G-19, call it nostalgia, but I forgot how nice the Gen3 shot and felt in my hand. So I sold all of my Gen4/5 autos and bought two new G-19/26 Gen3's, I've come full circle. The Gen3's that I bought were headed for CA and the price was lower than the newer Glock offerings.

I forgot how much I like the simplicity of the Gen3 Glocks (finger-groves, single-captive recoil spring, small mag release, flat dull finish on the slide, no flared mag-well, no back-straps, single slide stop, no beveled front of the slide, no RTF on the grip, and all). I am wondering if there is anyone else that has "gone back" to the Gen3 too...

Duelist
04-17-2019, 02:39 AM
My first foray into the Glock world was two years ago, a used G26.3. It quickly became my primary carry gun, and is to this day.

steve
04-17-2019, 06:08 AM
I have been carrying the same Glock 26 since 2003. I have most of the Gen3, 4 and 5 models and prefer my Gen3 26 and Gen 3 RTF2's.

dolphin62
04-17-2019, 06:23 AM
I really like mine I just bought it 3 weeks ago. I find that it shoots nice. I have nothing else to compare it to, but I will learn to shoot it well. Got to put the time in .

camsdaddy
04-17-2019, 06:32 AM
I've been carrying and qualifying with Glock pistols since 1996, started life with a G-17/19/26 Gen3. Transitioned to the G-22/23/27 Gen3 in 2003, then had the opportunity in 2012 to switch back to the G-17/19/26 in Gen4.