PDA

View Full Version : Guns/ammo, cars, and summer heat

Brutane
03-17-2012, 11:53 AM
I am new to the sport of shooting and I have a new dilemma now that summer is just around the corner. If I were to leave my Glock in the trunk of my car along with magazines and ammo so that I could go to the range after work would the extreme temps that a car can reach during the sunny summer months cause any problems with any or all of the components? If so what steps could I take?

JHC
03-17-2012, 12:12 PM
I have not had any problems with this in Georgia since '93 with the gun secured out of direct sunlight. I have heard a polymer gun sitting in the sunlight in a locked car in AZ in Summer can be damaged severely. I don't really know the validity of this.

JeffJ
03-17-2012, 01:11 PM
Kydex can deform in your trunk

JBP55
03-17-2012, 06:04 PM
I never had any problems leaving Glocks in my vehicle 365 days a year in South Louisiana.

David Armstrong
03-17-2012, 06:52 PM
I'm with JBP55. I've kept Glocks and other guns in locked cars with rolled up windows in Lousiana year round, Oklahoma summers (Todd can testify to those!), Texas Hill Country when it was 110, and so on with no damage to guns, ammo, or gear.

Brutane
03-18-2012, 09:41 AM
Thanks to all who answered. If anyone else has any info please keep the responses coming. I want to have as much info as I can get on this topic so I don't place myself or others in harms way. I also don't want to wreck my newly purchased equipment.

David Armstrong
03-18-2012, 03:03 PM
Thanks to all who answered. If anyone else has any info please keep the responses coming. I want to have as much info as I can get on this topic so I don't place myself or others in harms way. I also don't want to wreck my newly purchased equipment.