PDA

View Full Version : The Dreaded Flinch

jslaker
03-10-2011, 11:34 PM
We don't have a thread for this yet, and it's plaguing me, lately so let's do it.

In the last couple of months, I've developed a flinch I'm having a hard time working around. I have clear sight picture, trigger press feels good, I can dryfire fine all day, I'm not blinking, I can track my sight fine after discharge, bu as the gun goes off with live fire, I can visibly see the gun dive, resulting in hits seriously low and left.

This has been going on for about a month, and I'm really at a loss on what to do about it, as I've gone through several hundred rounds aware of the issue and the problem seems to be getting worse, if anything. It's particularly perplexing given it's the same gun I've been shooting for three years now, and haven't had this this problem up until now.

Any pointers for drills or exercises that might help would be hugely appreciated. And maybe will be helpful for others with a similar predicament.

MTechnik
03-10-2011, 11:44 PM
Try with a 22?

jslaker
03-10-2011, 11:47 PM
Try with a 22?

I've thought about this, but I'm not sure how much good it'll do when my dry fire is clean. Worth a shot though.

BWT
03-10-2011, 11:47 PM
Try with a 22?

This and buy some snap caps, load them at random intervals into your magazines swap around your magazines in such a way that you're not certain of which magazines have snap caps and where they're located.

I think it's one of those things you just have to practice. I start flinching if I haven't shot in awhile (month or more), it takes me a few magazines usually to get it under control.

jslaker
03-10-2011, 11:51 PM
I have tried snap caps. I'm really not sure if they're doing much good given that I *know* it's an issue on pushing the gun. Like I said, I can literally see the gun dive when it happens.

ToddG
03-10-2011, 11:55 PM