PDA

View Full Version : Back to the light!

LockedBreech
12-19-2018, 11:12 AM
Hey all. For anyone who cares (PF has been great about caring but I never like to assume):

I am still considering JAG as a 3-5 year option but came to the conclusion that my health and fitness are going to be a bit longer a haul than I thought (not just weight, I've had a few surgeries that limit exercise intensity and frequency).

So, I needed a job in the long haul.

When I started posting here in 2014 to December 2016, I worked as a primarily misdemeanor prosecutor with occasional felony work. Then for the past two years I did defense, divorces, and custody, which I violently have disliked.

Last Friday, I interviewed in a town I like much better than my current one, and I got the job. As a felony prosecutor.

To my surprise, my crazy dense trial experience the last few years was the most in the office, so they're not just putting me on felonies, they're making me their lead felony prosecutor on violent crimes and major drug crimes. The other prosecutors will take all the property crimes, domestics, misdemeanors, and simple possessions off my hands. I'm going to be able to just go after the baddest guys.

30 is pretty young for this, and as a bonus I am really good friends (10 years plus) with a lot of the law enforcement officers in this town already, so I am going to have a head start in the trust of the officers I work with.

It's nice to be back prosecuting. I think I am due for a sig line change. :)

Thanks to everyone who provided career path input, especially on the JAG stuff. All very helpful.

blues
12-19-2018, 11:15 AM
Congrats! This sounds like it may be a good fit and just the thing you needed. :cool:

Guinnessman
12-19-2018, 11:16 AM
Congrats! Now go out there and kick some ASS!

okie john
12-19-2018, 02:34 PM
You're in a position to do a lot of good for a lot of people, and they'll be counting on you.

Well done.

Okie John

LockedBreech
12-19-2018, 02:44 PM