PDA

View Full Version : STOICISM

Otaku.edc
12-09-2018, 07:23 PM
Anyone here have an interest in Stoicism or considers themselves a student/practitioner?

Reader of Epictetus? Seneca? Marcus Aurelius? Rufus? Cicero?

Subscriber to the Daily Stoic?

Interested in how to make the four Stoic virtues (justice, temperance, courage, wisdom) a habit?

The role that oikeiosis ought to play in our social and political relationships?

What are the best translations of the primary works? What are the best books “about” Stoicism?

What are the best blogs/online sources?

Anyhow, I’m a student of it for the several years and miss talking about it online.

JHC
12-09-2018, 07:55 PM
Dabbled. Mostly it was ingrained by my dad who could have written the book. ;)

WobblyPossum
12-09-2018, 08:27 PM
I believe that Meditations and Letters From a Stoic helped shape me into the person I am today. They didn’t put new ideas in my head but explained and expanded on things I felt and thought in ways I couldn’t articulate.

Chemsoldier
12-09-2018, 08:43 PM
I don't know how good a stoic i am, but i admire the hell out of them. Found it through internet sources, perhaps Brett McKay's The Art of Manliness. Read The Obstacle is the Way. Read James Stockdale's works. I have read Epictetus, Meditations and am working my way through Seneca's letters.

Otaku.edc
12-09-2018, 08:58 PM
I believe that Meditations and Letters From a Stoic helped shape me into the person I am today. They didn’t put new ideas in my head but explained and expanded on things I felt and thought in ways I couldn’t articulate.

One of, if not the main thing, I love about Stoicism is that it is/was viewed to be a “philosophy as a way of life” (Pierre Hadot).

The lessons are in living.

If you asked the Roman Stoicism for examples of Stoic philosophers they were apt to say, not people who wrote treatises, but people of action ie people of virtue. The person they did name often was Cato (https://dailystoic.com/cato/).