PDA

View Full Version : Newbe that needs help

mlglock52
03-05-2012, 09:42 PM
Hey Guys ans Gals,

I am basically new to shooting handguns. I just turned 21 and have gone through the concealed carry class. I go to submit my paperwork near the beginning of April. I just purchased a Gen 3 Glock 19. I would say that I have shot between 3-500 rds though a handgun. All of my shooting has been stationary at a target from 6-20 yards. I know that the best thing that I can do it take a basic training class. Until then, I would like to know some good drills that I can start with. I have looked around at the drills on pistol-training, but I am not sure where to really start.

Thanks in advance
Matt

motorjon68
03-06-2012, 09:48 AM
I can't answer your question but you are using your head. Good work!

MDS
03-06-2012, 10:34 AM
As a fellow n00b, I can't claim to know the "right" answer. IMO, though, the single most important drill I do is the Wall Drill, and the more strictly I hold myself to perfection, the more it helps. Overall, I've put together a personal improvement plan (http://pistol-forum.com/showthread.php?2176-MDS-noob-to-5k) that I've been working on for most of a year now, and it's worked pretty well for me so far, if only as a general guide and to keep me focused.

Good luck, and I'll echo motorjohn68: good on you for engaging your brain instead of just hittin' the range and makin' loud noises. :cool:

JeffJ
03-06-2012, 10:51 AM