PDA

View Full Version : I Sense an Economic Chill in the Air

Sensei
11-20-2018, 10:47 AM
Something tells me that we are headed into the recession that was forecasted last year to hit right around this time. It may have been accelerated a bit by trade policies, but the tech and oil sell offs tell me that 2019 is going to hurt. We’ll know more in the next 5-6 months.

RoyGBiv
11-20-2018, 11:08 AM
Economy is strong. More jobs than people looking. Market is correcting, not crashing. Divided government is historically good for the stock market.
Nobody's done their 2018 (new regs) taxes yet. Once they do, we'll see what that does to consumer confidence.

YMMV, of course. ;)

Mark D
11-20-2018, 11:15 AM
deleted

RevolverRob
11-20-2018, 11:51 AM
10-year and 2-year treasury notes are yielding nearly the same. If 2-year notes get ahead of 10-year notes? The recession is more or less an absolute. FED will have to raise interest rates to correct this, not good news for heavily endebted or creditors.

Other indicators, consumer retail spending is high, unemployment low - two great signs of economic progress. But the problem is - spending is high and unemployment low, because interest rates are low. When FED raises the interest rates, corrections will occur.

Now is a good time to consider buying into 2-year CDs or Treasury notes. The yields will be lower, but the risk will be much lower too. Some CDs are as high as 3% yield, which is a half point higher than expected inflation. You’ll come out the otherside in good shape. I don’t expect this recession to last as long as the last one.

JHC
11-20-2018, 11:52 AM
Something tells me that we are headed into the recession that was forecasted last year to hit right around this time. It may have been accelerated a bit by trade policies, but the tech and oil sell offs tell me that 2019 is going to hurt. We’ll know more in the next 5-6 months.