PDA

View Full Version : SIG LE SOP question

GJM
03-03-2012, 08:02 PM
This afternoon, my wife and I were out shooting in the desert. We had a mock Rogers School Range set up, with 8 inch steel targets from 7 - 20 yards. In the middle of a support hand drill, a BLM ranger drove up, where upon he informed us while our shooting was legal, we were parked in a no vehicle area and would be cited for a $275 fine. I explained that we had made contact with another BLM ranger in the last year, confirmed this area to be legal, and even had a picture of the ranger with me in this exact location. As we vigorously debated our respective positions, I looked down and noted that he had a Sig in a Serpa holster. Funny thing was his hammer was cocked.

While I am no Sig expert, I recalled a 220 model with a thumb safety, and asked him whether he was carrying a 220. He said "no," a 226. I then said "I didn't know there was a 226 model with a thumb safety." He said there isn't, but he had cocked his 226 before getting out of the truck. I nicely said "I bet your training officer didn't teach you that technique." His response was that he was the training officer, and that it was in the holster, although he then proceeded to pull the pistol slightly out of the holster and de-cock it. I nicely suggested he might spend more time learning the DA trigger so he was confident shooting the pistol in that condition.

Educate me, is there any agency that teaches their officers to thumb cock their Sig in the holster?

PS: After more discussion, it became an education session rather than a violation.

John Ralston
03-03-2012, 08:30 PM
Shame on you for shooting on public land! I have had it with all the BS. Do you think it would have gone down the same way if you were taking photos of wildlife? Sounds like will read about him shooting himself in the foot while drawing his cocked P226 out of his Serpa.

YVK
03-03-2012, 09:00 PM
I can't believer you didn't use an opportunity to show him a press-out...