PDA

View Full Version : SIRT vs. .22LR Conversion Kit

MD7305
03-03-2012, 04:29 PM
I'm trying to decide between an Advantage Arms kit or a SIRT for supplemental training. I've had good luck with AA kits in the past for marksmanship work, press out, and other skills. While searching for a Gen.4 compatible kit I have also been looking into the SIRT. I really like it and think it would be an advantage for "in home" training. The only SIRT I've used was Todd's briefly at an AFHF class.

Which would be the best bang for my buck training wise? After watching the videos on the NXT website there are tons of possibilities for training with the SIRT but I'd like some honest opinions from users.

JConn
03-03-2012, 04:51 PM
I'm not an expert by any means but I found myself cheating too much with the sirt. The great thing about a 22 conversion is that it doesn't lie. I use mine for 25 yd practice, which you can't really use a sirt for and for press out practice, which I cheat too much on with the sirt. These are the reasons I chose to buy a 22 instead of a sirt. Of course you could just get both :cool:

JV_
03-03-2012, 04:53 PM
I'm not an expert by any means but I found myself cheating too much with the sirt.You can cheat with a .22 kit too, especially with things like with your grip.

JConn
03-03-2012, 05:02 PM
You can cheat with a .22 kit too, especially with things like with your grip.

True, but that is easier for me to control. The 22 is obviously closer to the real thing, so the skill gained is transitioned easier to my 9mm

orionz06
03-03-2012, 05:05 PM
I want both, I only have the SIRT as I can use it all the time, still gotta make it to the range with the .22. I find myself edging towards cheating with the SIRT but I can also identify it and then limit that from SIRT practice.

JV_
03-03-2012, 05:07 PM
JCONN: I understand your point, for me the ability to practice in my home is more valuable.

JSGlock34
03-03-2012, 05:23 PM