PDA

View Full Version : New to forum and USPSA, so a question

HIPCHIP
10-29-2018, 08:16 PM
Hi all, just joined and am hoping to get into my local USPSA club come Dec or Jan. Not sure about all the rules, but trying to have the correct equipment to practice with until am able to do my first meet. I'm 62, retired police. Have a bad back and some tummy problems. As an officer I wore a thick leather pant belt then wore a thick leather "Sam Brown" holster belt over the top of pant belt to hold all my equipment, and used "Keepers" to keep the two belts together.

I regularly wear the thick leather pant belt because it holds up my pants well and will hold my CCW and ammo with no problems. Just have to put everything on and push it through the belt loops on the pants. With the bad back and tummy I am now forced to wear suspenders too, but not a problem, but it is a bit of a pain to try and put on the belt and gear and push through the belt loops.

Since I'm kind of an old school guy, and just want to compete for fun, I just picked up a S&W 586 6" 6-shot .38/.357 revolver to compete with. Purchased a Safariland competition holster and grabbed a bunch of speed loader pouches. This will all fit on my pant belt just fine, but figured it would fit on a Sam Brown type holster belt better as it's a whole bunch easier to just throw on the outer belt over the pant belt. Started looking at some of the shooting videos and it appears that you can wear a dedicated holster belt over your pant belt, so just confirming this? Looked at Midway USA sight for a holster type belt and figured Safariland would make a belt to fit their holster, but only found two belts on the site and not certain how they work so that they don't slip around.