PDA

View Full Version : Beretta M9 Slide Lock Pops Up Early?

BN
10-25-2018, 10:27 AM
I've been shooting my LTT Elite and sometimes the slide will lock open with rounds still in the magazine. I think it's because my thumbs forward grip, my left thumb presses down on the forward top of the slide lock.

Has anyone else had this problem? It looks like the top of the slide lock could be rounded off and that might fix it. LangdonTactical

For those of you who might say to change my grip; Sorry I'm 73 years old. Old dogs and new tricks. :) There are several pistols I can't shoot such as SIGs. I started shooting many years ago on 1911's with my thumbs holding down the safety hard and haven't been able to change.

scjbash
10-25-2018, 11:02 AM
I ended up filing over 1/3 the main part of the lever off because it was pretty uncomfortable to shoot with it stabbing in to my hand. Mine isn't rounded now and it's much better. I need to send it somewhere to be refinished. If you're catching the 90 degree edge of the forward part of the lever you could try rounding it off yourself and see if it helps. I think I bought the lever I filed from Brownells.

I think there's also some comments in the main LTT 92 thread about not getting slide lock because it sticks out so far. I would love to see the factory produce a low profile replacement that's half the width of the standard lever. That would make it about the same as the M&P slide lock which has always seemed about perfect to me.

Cory
10-25-2018, 11:43 AM
I'm not a trainer, but I have taught M9 marksmanship to a few folks. This happened a few times. It's absolutely your grip left side thumb. It you keep shooting it, not using so much pressure with that thumb will resolve the issue.