PDA

View Full Version : Picking a Metal-Framed Handgun - LTT Elite vs Shadow 2

einherjarvalk
10-25-2018, 03:08 AM
I try to buy myself a Christmas gift every year, and this year, so long as things go well, I'm looking at finally adding a high-end metal-framed TDA handgun to my safe.

Right now I've got a rising competition bug - at the moment I'm shooting outlaw matches out of convenience with my P30L V1, but I do want to try my hand at formal USPSA matches next year. I got interested in the Beretta 92 series earlier this year after talking with some other shooters in our matches that were either shooting LTT-tuned PX4s or had taken classes with Mr. Langdon recently. These shooters had nothing but good things to say about modern 92Gs and highly recommended the Wilson BrigTacs...which shortly gave way to recommendations for the LTT Elite once it began circulating. I've got some limited experience with the 92FS Inox that a friend brought out once before I started taking handgun shooting seriously, and I recall shooting it comparatively well given my limited skillset at the time.

That said, the Shadow 2 has always had my eye to a certain extent as well. Even back before I started shooting as regularly as I do now, I heard great things about it from friends who have bought them and competed with them, and they appear to be the undisputed champion in USPSA Production class. My understanding is that a semi-custom gun such as the LTT Elite 92 would put me in Limited once I start shooting USPSA. However, I'm somewhat hesitant to jump on the CZ train due to durability concerns I've heard about (mostly premature parts failures and occasionally light primer strikes). With the majority of my handgun stable now having "HK" or "Glock" stamped on the slide, I've come to really appreciate guns that need a minimum of preventative maintenance and parts replacement.