PDA

View Full Version : Which new 9mm would you recommend?

medsteele
02-19-2012, 11:30 PM
I'm a novice when it comes to handgun shooting. I'm not recoil-sensitive (shoot my hunting rifles a good bit), and I'm a big guy (5'11", 215lbs). But for my first handgun that I plan on keeping, I've been leaning towards 9mm due to the price of ammo and the controlability. I also have about 250 rounds of 9mm from the last handgun I owned, but if I would switch calibers it wouldn't bother me to give it to a friend of mine that shoots an XD9.

I want a gun for home defense and range time-- right now carrying is not a priority, though I may try carrying whatever I get down the line. Like I said though, I'm a big guy and am not worries about trying to comfortably carry a full-sized gun. My first choice is a Glock G17, but the reliability issues with new production models worries me. My second choice is an M&P9, but I don't reallu want to risk taking a 50/50 chance that it won't be accurate. I've heard some negative things about the XDm series here as well.

I'd like whatever I get to be reliable as hell, and tough to boot. That's why I leaned towards Glock, as I've seen the kind of abuse they take and the actual effort you have to expend to get those things to rust. Plus the aftermarket options and prices are unbelievable.

But would switching to .45acp be a better option? Yes, it's a little more expensive, but given my work schedule and the fact my son was born last month, I can't see me being able to shoot more than 1K rounds per month anyway. From what I hear, the G21 is running strong, as is the M&P45. Plus there's always the choice of a 1911 (which does require more maintenance to run reliably I know). I've always had the 1911 itch in the back of my head.