PDA

View Full Version : Steel Challenge Help Please

UNK
02-18-2012, 06:45 PM
I have been introducing my kids 8 and 12 to shooting for several years, primarily off the bench. Last week we went to a Steel Challenge type match and some of the competitors let them shoot their .22 Rugers. They absolutely loved it and want to shoot more.
They got a Ruger 22/45 for Xmas. However it is too heavy for the 8 year old.
I want to put a Tac Sol pac lite barrel on the Zytel Ruger lower.
My first question is what length barrel would best grow with them as they mature in this type shooting? 4 or 6 ".
Why if you are running a red dot would someone choose the longer barrel?
I will run a red dot on this, an article I read that Caleb had written suggested the Burris FastFire II. This runs about 200.00. I was looking at the mueller reflex sight that runs about a hundred. Does anybody have any other suggestions? Please explain in detail your choices. I don't mind spending the money if there is justification. What Mil red dot is typical for this type of shooting?
If a person is running the Tac Sol upper do they usually use the Zytel or steel lower.
Thanks a bunch :)

Al T.
02-18-2012, 07:35 PM
Brian, if you have any thoughts about running a suppressor on that platform, get the Tac-Sol with the barrel already threaded. If you get the threaded barrel, the 4 inch seems to be the way to go.

As to the rest, I'm a Luddite for RDS. Strongly suggest you follow DocGKR's recommendations. :)

UNK
02-19-2012, 02:33 PM
Brian, if you have any thoughts about running a suppressor on that platform, get the Tac-Sol with the barrel already threaded. If you get the threaded barrel, the 4 inch seems to be the way to go.

As to the rest, I'm a Luddite for RDS. Strongly suggest you follow DocGKR's recommendations. :)

I'll never run a suppressor but the 6" barrels have the threaded barrel option too. I think I will go with the C more the plastic version with railway mount is going for around 200.