PDA

View Full Version : Shooting glasses

UNK
05-18-2018, 10:26 AM
Yes another shooting glasses thread.
I have been to an optician who is highly experienced in making shooting glasses
My dilemma is trifocals were recommended. This makes sense in explanation in the optician office but I am hoping there are some members here who can share some personal experiences.
Also the second question is for lined or no lined.
Which do you feel is better and why.
This is relevant to pistol shooting primarily.

Mark D
05-18-2018, 12:11 PM
I've been wearing prescription shooting glasses for a couple of years. Since cataract surgery obliterated my near vision.

My glasses are monovision. The right (dominant) eye has a Rx that provides perfect focus on the front sight. Left (non-dominant) eye has no prescription, since my distance vision is decent.

After my losing my near vision with the cataract surgery my pistol shooting went to Sh*t and I though I was done. But these glasses got me back in the game.

Further experimentation has revealed that I shoot just as well with some light readers. The readers give me just enough prescription that my front sight is visible, but not so much correction that I can't see the target. The level of correction with these glasses is so low that I'd struggle to read a newspaper with them.

For general defensive scenarios, I can shoot OK without any correction at all. I haven't tried shooting a match without Rx but I probably should, just to quantify the difference.

Couple extra thoughts:

Z87 safety-rated frames and lenses are a good idea if you're shooting a lot. Between spall from steel targets, brass to face, and potential KBs, it's nice to have actual eye protection, not just correction. I think there's a PF member who had a serious eye injury while shooting, but I can't remember who it was. Most good eye doctors have a selection of Z87 frames.

I like anti-reflection coating - it allows more light transmission. YMMV.

Good luck.

BN