PDA

View Full Version : 9mm 1911

JV_
03-08-2011, 07:05 PM
I'm interested in getting a 9mm 1911. I'm not interested getting a tinkering gun, which probably rules out most 1911s. I want one that just works, and I don't want to spend $3K on a custom gun.

What are your recommendations? This one caught my eye - S&W:
http://www.smith-wesson.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/Product4_750001_750051_766209_-1_757754_757752_757751_ProductDisplayErrorView_Y

Kyle Reese
03-08-2011, 07:14 PM
How much are you willing to spend?

JV_
03-08-2011, 07:15 PM
It depends on what I have to spend to get something that works. $1500?

SecondsCount
03-08-2011, 07:45 PM
I have a 2002 era Springfield Loaded 9mm that I picked up used and it shoots well. The mags that came with it are Metalform and seem to do the job. Most of the time I give it to my younger son to shoot or a newbie shooter that might be recoil sensitive.

STI seems to be a fairly popular brand of 9mm 1911s but I have no experience with them or S&W. I think Dawson Precision can setup an STI how you would like and give it a tune up before sending it to you.

TAP
03-08-2011, 07:46 PM
Someone asked this question to Larry Vickers in his 1911 operators class last August and his response was a Wilson Combat 9mm.

JV_
03-08-2011, 07:51 PM
a Wilson Combat 9mm.Unfortunately, I don't want one that bad. It's just too much money.

SecondsCount
03-08-2011, 08:05 PM
Someone asked this question to Larry Vickers in his 1911 operators class last August and his response was a Wilson Combat 9mm.

That SpecOps 9mm is pretty sweet. Pricey but sweet.

LittleLebowski
03-08-2011, 08:23 PM
I believe that the Spec Ops 9mm is around $1800. Close to your budget

JV_
03-08-2011, 08:25 PM
I believe that the Spec Ops 9mm is around $1800. Close to your budget

I wasn't finding them that cheap. Got a link?

LittleLebowski
03-08-2011, 08:50 PM
Asked WC to take look at this thread.

VolGrad
03-08-2011, 08:54 PM

He called it a "pussycat".

TCinVA