PDA

View Full Version : NRA Instructor Certification VS Anything else...

BaiHu
02-08-2012, 11:19 AM
I found that starting with NRA classes was very helpful to instill simple and safe shooting practices. After taking classes outside of the NRA, I realize that there is very little tactical training (yes, there is some) being taught beyond things like PPOH (personal protection out of home) for CCW holders, but I'm in NJ, so it's a waste. In short, there is almost no bridge b/w range shooting and IDPA/IPSC or general defensive gun handling skills-to my knowledge.

So here are my questions:

1) As a potential/future budding instructor, do you think it is worth getting NRA certs? Especially given that I have no Mil/LEO experience.

2) If you have gotten NRA certs, what were they and what other certs/classes/experiences did you feel best filled out your knowledge base in order to start a successful teaching practice?

Thanks

Wendell
02-08-2012, 11:03 PM
Becoming an Instructor (http://pistol-forum.com/showthread.php?2682-Becoming-an-Instructor)
<http://pistol-forum.com/showthread.php?2682-Becoming-an-Instructor>

BaiHu
02-08-2012, 11:57 PM
Becoming an Instructor (http://pistol-forum.com/showthread.php?2682-Becoming-an-Instructor)
<http://pistol-forum.com/showthread.php?2682-Becoming-an-Instructor>

Ya know I saw that thread and when it got started it wasn't going where I thought my questions would be answered and I totally forgot to check back in-thanks and sorry for the double post.

Mods can remove this if you'd like.

Mr_White
02-09-2012, 01:15 PM
So here are my questions:

1) As a potential/future budding instructor, do you think it is worth getting NRA certs? Especially given that I have no Mil/LEO experience.

2) If you have gotten NRA certs, what were they and what other certs/classes/experiences did you feel best filled out your knowledge base in order to start a successful teaching practice?

BaiHu,