PDA

View Full Version : Going to confuse the NM CCW-Unit with my new permit endorsement

JodyH
02-02-2012, 07:44 PM
NM CCW statute defines a handgun as "blah... blah... blah... barrel shorter than 12"".
Guess what new toy I have meets that definition.
Serbu Super-Shorty.
I plan on submitting a caliber endorsement addition of .729" (12 ga.), category of "pump". They currently only list semi-auto, revolver and derringer as categories.
Should be interesting to see what the CCW-Unit does with my endorsement request.
I'm expecting a phone call to ask exactly WTF kind of gun I'm going to carry.
The Serbu meets the statute definition of a "handgun", but doesn't fit in any of their convenient pigeon holes.
Good thing I have a good relationship with the CCW-Unit (I've been a CCW instructor since the start, #25 to be exact) , should be fun to throw this at them.
I may be the only NM permit holder with a "12 ga. pump" endorsement on their carry permit.
:cool:

RoyGBiv
02-02-2012, 08:25 PM
Good luck with the State.
The bigger challenge will be to find a good AIWB rig for that thing. :D

JodyH
02-02-2012, 08:32 PM
AIWB = "As a matter of fact I am happy to see you..."

Actually, I want the endorsement so I can put the loaded Serbu in a backpack if I feel like it.

LHS
02-02-2012, 09:21 PM
Out of curiosity, if you have to have caliber-specific endorsements on your license in NM, how does reciprocity with other states work? My AZ permit has reciprocity, but I can carry pretty much whatever I choose (and it's not limited to just a 'handgun') without any caliber or action type endorsements here. How does that translate to NM if I visit there?