PDA

View Full Version : Red dot sights on pistols?

texag
03-08-2011, 04:35 AM
First off, I have no experience with a RDS on a pistol, so my ideas are all theoretical. It seems to me that mounting a RDS on a pistol would allow one to use a target focus. As a LEO, that seems to be a huge advantage, as there will be times when I have a gun drawn, but my shoot/no shoot decision hinges on the actions of the offender after the fact. Add in what would seem to be a much better low light sigthing reference and I think there would be some solid advantages over iron sights. I currently carry a gen 4 g17 on duty, and have been strongly considering buying a gen 3 g17 and having Bowie Tactical do a grip reduction/stippling and mount a leupold deltapoint on the slide. I guess my point in posting this is to get feedback form people who have actually used a slide mounted RDS and get their take on it before I spend a few hundred $$$ on the setup I'm considering.

-Is the RDS a significant detriment to draw speed?
-Will the easier sight picture make a difference in shooting quickly?
-Will the ability to maintain a focus on the target help significantly in shooting moving targets, shooting while moving, and shooting moving targets while moving?

I don't have a great handle on the advantages and disadvantages of a slide mounted RDS, so I was hoping to gain some insight from members here that have firsthand experience.

MTechnik
03-08-2011, 07:12 AM
There was a great discussion (http://www.firearmstrainingandtactics.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1072) on this very topic on FTT.

JM Campbell
03-08-2011, 10:18 AM
Great link, thanks for the quality read.

Odin Bravo One
03-08-2011, 11:18 AM
This is my input onto this topic on another board. I have had to chop and edit it a bit so that it makes (a little better) sense without the context of the other forum users and their responses.

Initial Post: