PDA

View Full Version : Beretta CX4?

jlw
01-25-2018, 09:34 PM
I have a student who has an immediate need for a carbine. She has access to an AR, but it's not working for her, and a shotgun is not a legit option at this time.

I have no experience with the Beretta CX4. Any info would be appreciated.

BN
01-25-2018, 09:52 PM
Have you looked at the new Ruger PCC? I have one and I like it.

edit to add: it can use Glock magazines.

https://ruger.com/products/pcCarbine/models.html

https://pistol-forum.com/showthread.php?29155-Ruger%92s-new-PCC

pangloss
01-25-2018, 09:55 PM
They are blow black carbines, so chambering the first round can be difficult. If I remember correctly, my wife had a lot of trouble running the bolt on mine when it was new. I haven't shot mine nearly as much as I expected, so I don't know how much they loosen up after they are shot for a while. Having said that, I think they are delightful little guns. They are light, and the length of pull can be shortened or lengthened by changing the number of spacers in the butt stock. Mine came set up to run PX4 mags, but I was able to get the small parts to switch it out to take M92 mags. I only have a few hundred rounds of FMJ through mine, but I've not experienced any problems. I really should shoot it more.

Can you give us some details on why the AR is not working for her?

GyroF-16
01-25-2018, 09:58 PM
This is very timely...
I just bought a CX4 to teach my early-teen sons to shoot carbines. I got the 9mm variety, that takes Beretta 92 mags (of which we have plenty).

We’ve been to the range with it once so far.
My impressions:
The good:
-Fairly light and compact, very easy for small-statured folks to handle.
-Recoil is light to moderate, and report/muzzle blast is minimal
-Manual of arms is simple- many similarities to a handgun. Bold release looks and works like a Beretta slide stop. My 12 yr old had no issues running the bolt.
-Plenty accurate with iron sights - 2” groups at 25 yds
The bad: