PDA

View Full Version : Pistol drills vs Competition

Packy
01-28-2012, 04:37 AM
As a newbie, i should start somewhere.
I would like to know which is more beneficial to a pistol shooter: practicing pistol drills or competing in IPSC/IDPA?
Which will give you the edge to be a better pistolero?

Already attended pistol classes to learn formally the fundamentals of which the trainer uses pistol drills, of which this curious question emerged.

01-28-2012, 05:01 AM
Generally speaking drills are for learning, competition is for testing. The two compliment each other. The greatest benefit will come from doing both.

Al T.
01-28-2012, 10:09 AM
Agree with 167. It's (IMHO) a matter of inclusion not exclusion or simpler put, do both.

I got into the training class game late in life. Again, IMHO, the best use of resources is to get formal training. The big advantage is that hands on coaching can change or correct techniques that you just can't correct yourself. I wasted a lot of time and money playing on the range over the years.

markp
01-28-2012, 04:03 PM
I would like to know which is more beneficial to a pistol shooter: practicing pistol drills or competing in IPSC/IDPA?

Pistolero = Gunman.

Drills. Competing in USPSA/IDPA will make you better at those sports.

gringop
01-29-2012, 12:20 AM
In my case, the down side to shooting only competitions is that you are devoting 3-4 hours to shooting 5 stages at around 20 seconds or less a stage. That's a hundred seconds of shooting in 4 hours (5 if you count drive time).

The up side is that I get much more complex stages (shoot on the move, swingers, ports, etc.) at competition than I am able to setup in practice. And there's the shooting under pressure aspect.

If I had to choose between the two, I know that I see much greater improvement practicing on my own with a well designed set of drills and tests where I can shoot 300 rounds in 2 hours instead of 100 rounds in 5 hours.

As others have said, do both.

Gringop

HeadHunter