PDA

View Full Version : Recommended Home Defense Shotgun In New Jersey

veteran-USMC
11-09-2017, 12:38 PM
Gentlemen 2 days ago NJ elected a new Democratic Gov. who stated NJ will have stricter & tougher Gun Laws-will try to ban AR-15 rifles. I am looking into purchasing a semi-auto shotgun! I follow the rule of buying what my wife(5'tall & 135lbs.) can handle.
What do shooters think of Mossbergs 20SA semi-auto shotgun? Also can a woman the size of my wife handle a Berreta 1301-Tactical semi-auto shotgun? Ranges in NJ don't rent shotguns in my area-- so its you have to know for sure what will work for your needs!
Any suggestions on the above along with any recommended semi-auto shotguns that are reliable are welcomed.

PS I am a former Marine Veteran who has a lot of rifle experience & limited shotgun experience!

Screwball
11-09-2017, 05:46 PM
Check gas operated 12 gauge shotguns. If a range doesn’t rent it, try going to a trap range and talk to shooters.

I’m bias to the Remington 11-87, since I have two.

txdpd
11-10-2017, 12:30 AM
Unless your wife can't handle the weight of a 12 gauge shotgun, there isn't any reason to go out of your way to pick up a 20 gauge for home defense. Low recoil 12 gauge 8 pellet 00 buckshot, like the Federal and Hornandy LE offerings, will be pushing about the same weight load at about the same velocity as a 20 gauge load, but have much better terminal performance.

hufnagel
11-10-2017, 08:25 AM
my personal opinion: the 20ga shockwave has a chance to be a great home defense firearm.

also, if you're close enough to make it to Clinton Wildlife Management area this Sunday the 12th at 9am, you're more than welcome to attend Shotgun Shootout: Pumpkin Edition.
we're a friendly bunch of gun owners who have only 1 real "rule" (beyond BE SAFE!): if you can feed it, you can shoot it. :D

PM me for details.

veteran-USMC
11-10-2017, 10:06 AM