PDA

View Full Version : crkt Argus

11B10
10-14-2017, 01:33 PM
I'm checking out the Argus from crkt. It appears to be a very good blade and is currently available on crkt's site for $34.95. First, is it as good as it's hype - and, if it is, why the low price? What can anyone tell me?

Wondering Beard
10-14-2017, 02:00 PM
CRKT makes good solid knives, not as fancy as many (witness the use of AUS 8 steel in most of their blades -a fine steel, easy to resharpen but not terribly sophisticated). I don't know this particular knife but going by the reputation of the company, it should serve you well.

11B10
10-14-2017, 02:22 PM
CRKT makes good solid knives, not as fancy as many (witness the use of AUS 8 steel in most of their blades -a fine steel, easy to resharpen but not terribly sophisticated). I don't know this particular knife but going by the reputation of the company, it should serve you well.

Thanks, WB, I'm asking mainly because I have zero experience with crkt as a brand. I carry a Benchmade Gryptilian.

Cypher
10-14-2017, 02:41 PM
My daily carry is a CRKT Ignitor. Again, it's not a fancy knife but it came from the factory sharper than any knife I've ever owned and it hold the edge well. Shortly after I bought it I damaged the clip CRKT sent me a new clip free of charge. For 30.00$ it's definitely worth the money.

Wondering Beard
10-14-2017, 02:51 PM
Thanks, WB, I'm asking mainly because I have zero experience with crkt as a brand. I carry a Benchmade Gryptilian.

That Benchmade is an excellent folder and I don't know if the CRKT folder is going to be as good but it should do the equivalent type of work well.

I have a few CRKT knives and I've never been disappointed.

11B10
10-14-2017, 03:27 PM
That Benchmade is an excellent folder and I don't know if the CRKT folder is going to be as good but it should do the equivalent type of work well.

I have a few CRKT knives and I've never been disappointed.