PDA

View Full Version : Need well help ASAP

LittleLebowski
10-06-2017, 05:40 PM
Our ranch well stopped pumping all together or not enough to get us meaningful pressure a week ago. Since then, we have put in a new submersible pump, new tank, checked electrical via voltmeter, ruled out that the well is dry, and just replaced the pressure switch. We can get up to 50psi, which is not enough for our buildings. We can only get 50psi when we shut off the water pipe to one house. 50psi is ok for now, but it’s not acceptable for more than a day or two. When we open up the pipe to the last house, pressure drops off to 10-15psi.

One week ago, this well had no issues whatsoever. On the pressure switch, each point is drawing around 144-149 volts.

Now, on the attached image, our pressure switch is wired white/black, white/black UNLIKE the image.

I think that there is an electrical problem with the pressure switch, but I am a rank amateur at this.

My brother and his wife have a new baby, this no water thing has been roug as their house is the one affected by this.

https://inspectapedia.com/water/Two_Harbors_2011_0427_DJFcs.jpg

NH Shooter
10-06-2017, 05:51 PM
Any leaks in the line from the pump (at the bottom of the well) to the tank?

NEPAKevin
10-06-2017, 06:18 PM
Not a plumber. When I replaced the pressure switch for our 220v jet pump, I wired it exactly like the one I took it off which IIRC looked like the picture, well wires on the inside terminals, power from the breaker on the outside and ground wires to the green screw on the plate (which matched the wiring diagram that came with the switch). FWIW, My problem turned out to be not the switch, which I replaced twice, once with a generic and the second time a Square_D, but rather that the tube to the switch was clogged with silt and a small stone. I personally hate plumbing but not having water sucks more.

StraitR
10-06-2017, 06:24 PM