PDA

View Full Version : An ode to the Ruger MkIII

Nephrology
01-15-2012, 02:19 PM
So, I am, relative to many posters here, a fairly novice handgun shooter. I did the shotgun sports quite a bit in my adolescent years and had a good amount of time on rifles and shotguns and other "farm boy" stuff that I would get into with my family in North Carolina but never had much chance to shoot pistols, particularly as my parents (who are dyed on the wool 90s Democrats... I'd rather not think about it too hard) were very against it.

I started shooting handguns about 3 years ago and take it as a relatively serious pursuit. I only own 2 longarms, a 870 Wingmaster and a Marlin Model 60, just to have, really. Otherwise I focus all of my effort on shooting my 3 9mm glocks well.

However due to a deficit of free time, quality instruction, and focused practice, my skills leave a lot to be desired. My last 2 outings since moving across the country to Connecticut involved lots of teaching newbies what the front sight was and was not fully focused when I was able to put rounds downrange myself. Lots of low and left shots, you probably recognize the syndrome. I've tried all the possible trigger combos/grip force adaptor/ you name it but realized that none of them would correct a deficit in the fundamentals of marksmanship.