PDA

View Full Version : Not Just P320.

Jim Watson
08-27-2017, 11:10 PM
Not a hatchet job on Glock, just that that was what it was at the local 3 gun shoot today.
Reported by the Match Director:
"I had just gotten done giving the safety brief and was the first shooter up. Shot my pistol, was holstering it and reaching for my shotgun. I felt it at the holster and thought it was in and turned lose. It wasn't and hit the ground.
Worst of it was that it hit on the butt of the slide and grip, then it fired one round. After the initial WTF, everyone checked themselves for extra holes and then jumped into action clearing the guns.
I've been shooting competitions for 18 years now and know better than to turn lose of the pistol unless I know it's in, but today I screwed up.
As to why the pistol went off. It's a Glock 35 gen 3. Has a stock trigger and connector bar but a Zev spring kit. Best estimate is 2,000 + rds through it since the springs were put in. Pretty sure a weak plunger safety spring is the problem. From know on I'll replace the springs every 1,000 rounds and make sure my gun is firmly in the holster before letting go."

Combination of hot holstering on the clock and apparently a limber spring kit.

It is easy to say "Don't drop your gun." but stuff happens. But you don't have to set yourself up for it. Only time I have shot 3 gun in modern times, the pistol was to be shot dry and holstered or grounded empty. Guess they do things differently now.

HCM
08-27-2017, 11:25 PM
Not really comparable to the P320 since the drop only resulted in the pistol firing due to aftermarket modifications.

Stuff does happen but people re-holster under stress in the real world all the time.

We have an I dropped my pistol once" thread - https://pistol-forum.com/showthread.php?27144-I-dropped-my-pistol-once

Jim Watson
08-27-2017, 11:48 PM
Yup. "Don't drop your gun." AND "Don't meddle with your mechanisms."

fixer
08-28-2017, 06:11 AM
Zev Spring kit: