PDA

View Full Version : Constructive criticism for my first IDPA Match

Nephrology
01-10-2012, 12:14 AM
hello!

While I have shot some IPSC in the past (~5-6 matches) I am totally new to IDPA. I was hoping to get some input. Below is a link to me shooting my 1st IDPA match (brown jacket shooter with the light grey ball cap)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0FidJEVz3WU&feature

Any tips? If you put it in HD you can see where my shots are landing on the 3rd stage. Interestingly my groups magically got much tighter on the target with the no shoot and hard cover. Aim small miss small I guess. I also somehow did almost better with my strong hand/weak hand only shots than my freestyle!

Thanks in advance, I appreciate any advice to be had.

jar
01-10-2012, 11:49 AM
You don't need to duck back behind cover when reloading. If your use of cover is ok for shooting, it's ok for reloading. Looks like you got a procedural for having the leg outside of cover on the first stage, and one for forgetting tac sequence on the last one, do I have that right?

All in all, looks pretty good for your first match.

Nephrology
01-10-2012, 04:54 PM
You don't need to duck back behind cover when reloading. If your use of cover is ok for shooting, it's ok for reloading. Looks like you got a procedural for having the leg outside of cover on the first stage, and one for forgetting tac sequence on the last one, do I have that right?

All in all, looks pretty good for your first match.

Correct on both counts. I actually had slipped on spent brass with my right foot which caused my left foot to end up further outside than I had wanted, but I am still kind of working on how to shoot around cover and what distance I need to keep between my body and it. It is definitely more challenging in that regard than IPSC, but the actual shooting doesn't taunt me with 25+yd shots like IPSC has in the past.

jar
01-10-2012, 05:22 PM