PDA

View Full Version : Tell me about the Mossberg 590A1

Lon
08-08-2017, 10:25 PM
I wanna hear the good, the bad and the ugly. I want a pump gun that has a lot of logistic support (stocks, etc.), but I'm not a fan of recent Remington production guns. So I'm interested in the 590A1 since it's available with options I like (chokes, ghost rings and MP stock availability). I have little experience w Mossy shotguns other than test firing them.

What don't I know that I need to know? I know the mossberg factory safety sucks and there's an aftermarket one available. What else?

Are they easy to take apart? I've had an 870 apart (and further than just taking barrel off) more times than I can count for reference.

SpyderMan2k4
08-08-2017, 10:59 PM
500s have plastic safeties but the 590a1 has a metal one, so it won't have the breakage issue. That being said, the Vang Comp safety is awesome.

They are easy to take apart, easy to clean. Nothing is welded to the receiver, unlike 870s, so it's all user serviceable. The factory mag springs are garbage, as are (most) factory followers. Definitely get an upgraded follower and spring. Offerings from Vang and S&J hardware are both great.

Because of the receiver design, Mossbergs with the same LOP and barrel length as 870s are a little over an inch shorter overall. The only issue I've really had with mine is the bolt lug cutout in the barrel had sharp edges, so long rounds would get hung up on it. Rounding it off slightly fixed it.

I put thousands of rounds through my 590 in hopes it would get as smooth as my 870 with far fewer rounds - it never did.

Aftermarket support is solid and it's tough to go wrong with.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

Lon
08-08-2017, 11:32 PM
So replace spring and follower. Check.

greyghost
08-08-2017, 11:42 PM
The 590A1 also has a metal trigger group and a thick-walled barrel. Those things may or may not matter to you.

Permethrin
08-08-2017, 11:47 PM