PDA

View Full Version : Glock split times/Platform Conundrum

GJM
01-05-2012, 09:36 PM
Back in April, I went thru the Rogers School with a P30. I felt like I way underperformed my ability, and in particular, my support hand only shooting was a disaster. When I got home, I grabbed a M&P 9 FS and a Glock 17, and ran comparison tests with the P30, shooting known drills like the FASTest. Despite having shot 10,000 rounds thru the P30 in the previous six months, and not having shot either the Glock or M&P that year, from drill one, I shot the M&P best, followed by the Glock and then the HK.

With that data, I started shooting a M&P 9 FS, and several months later, a M&P Pro with an Apex FSS trigger. I ran the Pro thru Todd's AFHF in October and then the Rogers School later that month. My performance was WAY better thru RSS with the Pro. While I was, for example, cleaning the free style blast drills at Rogers, my support hand only shooting still needed work. Post Rogers, I really drilled down on the support hand shooting, and came to realize that I preferred a rolling trigger like the DCAEK, to the FSS, for shooting with one hand. At Rogers, Bill Rogers mentioned that the RDS was clearly the future, and I sent out a G17 to Mark Housel and a M&P 9FS to Bowie for RMR installation.

Mark Housel turned the G17 around in two days, where six weeks later I am still waiting for the Bowie M&P. With the RMR G17 in my hot little hands, I started shooting a Glock since I had one with an optic, because I figured everyone needs to be able to shoot a Glock, and probably because of the TLG bell cow effect. By bell cow, I mean the cow that wears the bell, and the other cows follow behind.