PDA

View Full Version : Compensated P229 - Questions?

jwperry
07-14-2017, 10:04 AM
I've been battling numbness in my hands & fingers for a couple of months and finally saw the primary DR about it...seems I have a touch of carpal tunnel. I'm a keyboard jockey at work, so it isn't really uncommon even for someone in their mid 30s.

I'm going to put my 1911s away for a while to see if that can help mitigate some of the issues that arise after shooting. I've found that the morning after a range session my right hand/fingers will normally be curled into a ball which takes some effort to un-curl...normally just a hot towel and some rubbing on my wrists.

But since shooting is my "outlet" I don't want to put it down all together. I'm invested in classic Sigs & 1911s; so I've been reading about compensated pistols and their ability to help mitigate some physical ailments other shooters have reported. As such, I'd like to give a P229R Roland Special type pistol a try. I may even pick up another $350 RMR from Cabela's to dedicate to this, not sure yet.

Here's some questions that I'm hoping the group can assist with:

-Who makes threaded barrels for the P229 other than Barsto or Sig?
-Can anyone identify any of the new mini/micro compensators that would pair well with the Sig's slide profile? TBRCI is who I've been looking at mostly, but if a KKM would work, I'll try either. They all seem tailored to the Glock/mini-Glock or M&P.
-My google-fu has been too weak to find it, but has anyone done this on a P229 or maybe P226 before?

wmu12071
07-14-2017, 10:15 AM
P229 sport comp maybe?

Default.mp3
07-14-2017, 10:30 AM
I think that you might have better results shooting bunny fart loads rather than going for a compensator.

I'm not too sure on additional manufacturers, but you always have the option of having someone installing a threaded extension; Tornado Technologies comes highly recommended in that department.