PDA

View Full Version : Critique my shooting

STIPARTOUT
03-05-2011, 01:47 AM
So first a little backgroud:

I purchased my first handgun in August 2010, a HK P2000sk V3 in .40. I have not had any "formal" training, but have shot ~2500 rounds through my HK in the last 6 months (averaging 200 rounds per range trip and 2 range trips per month), have read a lot (A LOT), watched a ton of youtube vids etc. I know none of this is a replacement for proper training (more on that to come).

I've been working on my fundamentals: I first started with a boxer-type stance (strong-side foot back), changed to weaver stance and my shots got better. I was shooting with my non-dominant (left) eye closed, and when I started shooting with both eyes open, my groupings opened up some, but have since got them back down some.

I have learned a lot by doing and have progressed with my shot placement, but as my groupings are shrinking, I'm noticing a pattern. Although I feel that I have decent fundamentals, and have put them all together (high, thumbs forward grip; weaver stance; tight, but not too tight grip; focusing on the front sight etc.), but I'm shooting up and to the left. According to the diagnosis target, I'm anticipating the recoil or using too little finger. I sometimes catch myself in a bit of an anticipatory downward flinch, which I am working on using snap caps via dry fire, but why would a downward flinch cause my shots to hit up left? Also I'm using the pad of my finger, so I don;t think that's the problem.